What Is Design Thinking? Process and Steps Explained

Mindful • 22 March 2018

Design Thinking Process and Steps


The common Design Thinking model consists of five phases.

  1. Empathize: The first phase serves to completely identify the problem. The observation of the customer/audience is a central aspect in order to understand the wishes and needs of the customers and to detect contradictions.
  2. Define: In this phase, the information gathered from the empathy phase is structured and weighted. To understand the customer's point of view, methods such as "Persona" and "Customer Journey Map" are suitable. Personas allow teams to better engage in the role of the client by projecting the insights from the previous phase onto a fictitious person, the persona. A Customer Journey Map visualizes the customer's most important touchpoints with the organization to identify potential issues or vulnerabilities.
  3. Ideate: At this point, the team searches for as many solutions as possible based on the preceding phases. Here it is more about quantity than quality. Usually methods such as brainstorming, mind mapping and sketching are used.
  4. Prototype: Prototypes are developed and tested from one or more ideas. The prototypes can be repeatedly rejected or changed to ensure that all significant insights for the realization of an idea have been captured.
  5. Implement: If the requirements of the team and above all of the customer are met, and the feasibility and profitability of the solution is verified, the transition to implementation can take place.


What Is Design Thinking? Process and Steps Explained
What Is Design Thinking? Process and Steps Explained


Comments (2)

The design thinking process and steps are instrumental in fostering innovation and problem-solving. By following a systematic approach, designers can create user-centered solutions that address real-world challenges. To delve deeper into this process, exploring https://slidepeak.com/powerpoint-redesign can provide valuable insights into effective presentation techniques. This resource offers guidance on visual storytelling and redesigning PowerPoint slides, enhancing the overall impact and effectiveness of design thinking presentations. Incorporating such expertise elevates the communication and implementation of creative ideas.

  • Log in or register to post comments
  • The Book Review Club

    Public group
    30 members  


    Public group
    10 members  
    , Vietnam


    Public group
    7 members  

    The Cooking Club

    Public group
    6 members  


    Public group
    5 members